Friday, January 15, 2021

Gluten Free Diet

-

The idea behind the Gluten Free Diet is to only consume foods that do not contain gluten. Gluten occurs naturally in some foods, and is used as a food additive in others. Gluten is found naturally in many foods that have always been considered to be healthy, such as wheat, barley, and rye.

chocolates

Are Gluten Free Foods Really Gluten Free?

Even if a food does not naturally contain gluten, it can come into contact with a gluten containing product causing gluten contamination. What this means is that if you are on a gluten free diet, you need to carefully select your foods, and be aware of how the food is processed for marketing to ensure that you really are not consuming any gluten at all.

It is also important that you understand that gluten is not just used in food. It is also commonly used in medications, and you will need to discuss this possibility with your doctor when he or she needs to prescribe a medication for you, or when you need to purchase an over-the-counter medication.

What is the Gluten Free Diet used for?

The Gluten Free Diet can be used for weight loss, but it is most commonly used in the treatment of specific health issues. These health conditions include migraine headaches, gluten intolerance, coeliac disease, dermatitis herpetiformis, and of course allergies to wheat and wheat products.

While research is not completed or conclusive, there has been some hope that this type of diet can lessen autistic behaviors. There is also hope that it can help to diminish the effects of Multiple Sclerosis, Parkinson’s Disease, Diabetes, Arthritis, Down’s Syndrome, Seizures, and more.

What Grains Can Be Consumed on the Gluten Free Diet?

There are several sources for foods that do not contain gluten. Most commonly, these foods are starches and grains, in their most natural form. Corn and rice are the most well known grains, but there are many others. Although not considered to be grains, potatoes are gluten free.

Other foods or grains that are gluten free include montina, chickpeas, sorghum, rice, amaranth, tapioca, millet, chia seeds, yams, taro, quinoa, arrowroot, lupin, sweet potato, and teff. Although wheat is not gluten free, buckwheat is. Many alcoholic drinks are also gluten free.

Because of gluten contamination issues, it is essential that you purchase these starches and grains in the most natural form possible – where they have not undergone a great deal of processing – but it is also important that you realize that few diets can be completely gluten free, and even products that are labeled as gluten free may contain just a bit of gluten.

Gloria Brown
Women's health and wellness retreat leader providing vacations and trips for women to get in shape -- and stay that way! On CleansePlan.com you can find my articles about weight loss, health and women's issues. Please feel free to contact me on gloria@cleanseplan.com

How to Live (& Enjoy Life) with Rheumatoid Arthritis

0
Recalling the day on which she was diagnosed with rheumatoid arthritis (RA), author Mary Felstiner writes in her recent memoir, Out of...

How Long to Pass Kidney Stones? Causes, Symptoms & Treatments

0
Kidney stones are an often painful urologic disorder known as nephrolithiasis that sends over half a million people to emergency rooms each...

BioEnergetic Medicine

0
BioEnergetic Medicine combines eastern traditional and alternative ideas to involve the body’s energy system as an over-arching...

6 Tips to Treat Back Pain

0
Back pain is a common issue for millions of people around the world. Conventional medicine typically treats the pain and not the...

The Truth about the Lemon DETOX Diet

30
This hottest diet vogue has become phenomenal... Hollywood celebrities like Beyonce Knowles and Mariah Carey have all taken...

Ergonomics

0
Ergonomics is the science concerned with designing the job, equipment, and workplace in order to optimise human wellness and overall performance. Also...